Posted by: Mike | August 19, 2008

Bike Ride

I eventually went for about a 45 min bike ride in the housing development across the street, which is very nice.

I haven’t had a ride like that in months, and it felt really good.  The weather was comfortable(75-80), there was lots of cloud cover, and it was later in the day(around 7:15) which makes a lovely atmosphere for being outside.

Also, because of the tropical storm that threatens to be a hurricane in the distance, it made for a very surreal atmosphere, and it’s just one of those things in life that is just so cool to experience. The light from the sky wasn’t gray, or yellow, but PURPLE!

Words don’t do it justice.

I had my iPod going to some Pendulum and Daft Punk, and it was the perfect music for the atmosphere and just what I needed to motivate me to go for about 9 miles.

Going out was a bit rough, since I had about a 20mph wind going against me, but the ride back was a breeze. 😉

After that ride, I am pretty sure this will be one of the ways that helps me get back in shape.

I say that for a few reasons; No one really likes to work out(no one I can think of anyway), but if you can do it with something you really enjoy doing, it makes working out that much easier.

I’ve been riding bikes since I was a kid, my dad used to take me and my brother on trails when we lived in NJ all the time, so it’s just something I can’t imagine NOT doing, and I find it to be a lot of fun. Aside from it being fun, it’s a great workout, not just your legs, but it’s good cardio too.

One thing that definitely makes working out easier, is how great you feel afterwards. You feel like you just got your ass kicked(if you did it right), but you feel like you accomplished something, and physically you just feel good.

For anyone who may stumble upon my blog, do yourselves a favor; if you don’t already, start doing more physical activities. It doesn’t have to be a lot. I walk with my dad around the apartment complex at night, we get the blood pumping and have good conversations while doing so.

Make sure it’s something YOU enjoy though, it will make it that much easier to do, and I promise you’ll feel great once you’ve done it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

